What are workshops?

Workshops meet both in hybrid format and online throughout the semester and cover a variety of subjects, going in-depth to help students succeed in their new academic, cultural and social surroundings.

Fall Workshops 

Workshop Name Date Time Location Format Teams link
Virtual Library Tour: Unlocking Resources Friday, September 30 1pm ET/ 10am PT Online Online Click here to join the meeting
Working in Groups Successfully Thursday, October 6 1pm ET/ 10am PT Curry 333 Hybrid Click here to join the meeting
Critical Reading for Success on the Job Market Tuesday,  October 25 3pm ET/ 12pm PT Online Online Click here to join the meeting
Understanding a Variety of Accents Thursday, November 10 3pm ET/ 12pm PT Curry 333 Hybrid Click here to join the meeting
Giving Helpful Feedback Wednesday, November 30 2pm ET/ 11am PT Curry 333 Hybrid Click here to join the meeting

Fall Workshop Descriptions

Workshop Name Description
Virtual Library Tour: Unlocking Resources Join us for a virtual tour of Snell Library, and experience everything that the library’s robust website has to offer. Expert librarians will show you how to fine-tune your research process and make the most of our library’s electronic resources. Enjoy free newspaper subscriptions, exclusive databases, personalized guidance, and more!
Working in Groups Successfully Working well in groups is essential to professional success. This workshop will help you develop habits for efficient, sophisticated groupwork and collaborations. Hosted by Natalya Watson, PhD.
Critical Reading for Success on the Job Market This workshop will introduce students to critical reading strategies vital to success on the job market. Students will learn to analyze job listings, resumes, and more. By the end of this workshop, students will be equipped to read and revise their own job search materials and approach the job market with increased confidence. Hosted by Ethan Whittet, PhD.
Understanding a Variety of Accents For many international students, understanding the accents of classmates and co-workers can be a challenge. This workshop explores listening comprehension strategies to ease that anxiety and help you approach your work with confidence. Co-hosted by Crissy McMartin-Miller, PhD, and Ilka Kostka, PhD.
Giving Helpful Feedback Many workplaces and classes will ask you to give colleagues feedback, whether in meetings, Discussion Board posts, peer reviews, or face-to-face conversations. How can we craft useful feedback that helps coworkers and classmates? This workshop will equip students with this crucial skill, essential to success in the classroom and the workplace. Hosted by Veronika Maliborska, PhD.

Questions? Email Global Student Success at [email protected] (Office hours: Monday-Saturday, 9am – 5pm ET)