These workshops are open to everyone and hosted by students, faculty, and staff. Topics include English language skills, American culture, and general tips for academic and social success. Space is limited, so please register in advance. A selection of our recorded workshops can be found here.

Language and Culture Workshops—Boston and Virtual

Broad Street Campus

WORKSHOP DATE TIME LOCATION
You’re Here. Now What? Wednesday, September 25, 2019 10:00 a.m.–11:00 a.m. Broad Street Room 211
Navigating the Supermarket and Ordering in Restaurants with Sauce/Dressing Tasting Saturday, October 18, 2019 10:00 a.m.–11:00 a.m. Broad Street Room 233

Main Campus

WORKSHOP DATE TIME LOCATION
Library Resources Friday, September 13, 2019 2:00 p.m.–3:00 p.m. Snell Library Room 422
You’re Here. Now What? Wednesday, September 18, 2019 12:00 noon–1:00 p.m. Curry Student Center 346
Navigating Public Transportation in Boston Thursday, September 26, 2019 2:00 p.m.–3:00 p.m. Curry Student Center 346
Navigating the Supermarket and Ordering in Restaurants with Sauce/Dressing Tasting Saturday, September 28, 2019 1:00 p.m.–2:00 p.m. Curry Student Center 346
Exploring Nature/Green Spaces around Boston/How to Camp Out Thursday, October 3, 2019 2:00 p.m.–3:00 p.m. Curry Student Center 346
Email Etiquette for Your Professional Brand Monday, October 7, 2019 3:00 p.m.–4:30 p.m. Curry Student Center 346
Know Your Rights Wednesday, October 9, 2019 3:00 p.m.–4:30 p.m. Curry Student Center 346
Student Panel—Getting Involved on Campus Thursday, October 10, 2019 12:00 noon–1:30 p.m. Curry Student Center 346
Storytelling Skills for Interviewing Tuesday, October 15, 2019 3:00 p.m.–4:30 p.m. G–12 Stearns Center
How to Give a Good Presentation in English Wednesday, October 16, 2019 12:00 noon–1:00 p.m. Curry Student Center 346
Critical Thinking in U.S. Classrooms Tuesday, October 24, 2019 12:00 noon–1:00 p.m. Curry Student Center 348
American Small Talk Tuesday, October 29, 2019 2:00 p.m.–3:30 p.m. G–12 Stearns Center
APA Citations Wednesday, November 6, 2019 12:00 noon–1:00 p.m. Curry Student Center 346
Swearing: American Profanity Thursday, November 7, 2019 3:00 p.m.–4:00 p.m. Curry Student Center 346
Surviving Winter 101 Tuesday, December 3, 2019 12:00 noon–1:00 p.m. Curry Student Center 344

Register for all workshops here